Tenure and Academic Freedom Committee Minutes

16 July 2020 Meeting

Zoom

<u>Present</u>: Carey Balaban, Nick Bircher, Chris Bonneau, Jane Cauley (secretary), Abbe de Vallejo, Barry Gold, Donavan Harren (University Times), Stephen Jacobus, Kirill Kiselyov, Ergin Kocyildirim, Maria Kovacs, Amanda Leifson (Graduate student representative), Lori Molinaro, Elizabeth Mulvaney, Mark Paterson, Jessie Van Swearingen, Kelly Tatone, Ann Thompson, Karin Warner

Excused: John Kirkwood

Absent: Monica Costlow, Helen Petracchi, Linda Santa Casa, Agustin Cruz Vasques (post doc representative)

The meeting was called to order at 2:03PM by Abbe de Vallejo.

- 1. The minutes of the previous meeting (February 5, 2020) were approved.
- 2. Introduction of new member: Dr Mark Paterson, Associate Professor Department of Sociology; He is interested in the interface between machines and humans. He was interested in serving on FAPTC because he most recently was awarded tenure himself.
- 3. Update from minutes: Guidelines on writing performance evaluation letters sent to Faculty Assembly and was approved.
- 4. Chris Bonneau: Role of Advisory Council on tenure and promotion approved by Faculty Assembly.
- 5. Proposed policy procedures for non-discrimination: Office of Diversity and Inclusion overseeing this; unclear if they have convened another meeting.
- 6. Laurie Kirsch served as a representative from the Provost to TAFC. She has resigned her position. No new committee assignment has yet been made.
- 7. SOM meeting with new Senior Vice Chancellor of the Health Sciences (SVC) TAFC members who attended the meeting provided a brief summary.
- 8. Marika Kovacs and Abbe de Vallejo re-elected as Chair and Co-Chair unanimously. Jane Cauley re-elected as Secretary.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:18PM. Respectfully submitted, Jane A. Cauley